Basketball and my destiny

Finally the day had arrived. Another Saturday. I went to Bonsor for basketball along with some friends. I practised my shots, trying to increase the accuracy and releasing speed. Some people came over and asked if we would like to play a friendly match.

I, myself, am not the best player. I remember I started playing basketball because of a friend in grade 8. He was an incredible player. I used to play very badly, missing easy lay-ups and jumpers. I didn’t have the confidence to shoot.

Every time I got the ball, I would pass it to one of my teammates for sure. That friend of mine always plays with me and he’s always on my team. As you would expect, I got blamed, criticized and yelled at for everything – bad passes, slow reactions, etc.

I got a pass from the point guard. Seeing that the defender wasn’t guarding me tightly, I got hold of the ball, and took the shot. I made it! I cannot describe the happiness and triumph inside me.

I’ve always been an admirer of Kobe’s fadeaway jumpshot. I could never figure out how he does it. How he can pull up for a fadeaway jumpshot with the clock ticking and half a second left. I knew Kobe is a hard worker. His determination, his perseverance, and his confidence are all that I envy.

My friend drove to the basket, leaving me wide open. He then passed the ball to me and I took the shot. The ball bounced and hit the rim. The ball spun around the rim maddeningly, and finally, it fell to the floor. I was disappointed.

I remember reading an article about why not making mistakes is the biggest mistake ever. After all, mistakes not only help us let go of fears, but also teach us valuable lessons. As Al Franken said, “Mistakes are a part of being human…lessons that can only be learnt the hard way. Unless it’s a fatal mistake, which, at least, others can learn from.”

Kobe’s story of success as well as Franken’s quote gave me a lot of insights. I started to recall what I did in the last couple of weeks – nearly zero things related to school work. I always regard myself as a procrastinator, but things are getting more and more serious. Determined, I believe that I am the creator of my own destiny and that I should start using my time wisely. “Time flies,” as they say, “in the blink of an eye.”

7 thoughts on “Basketball and my destiny

  1. Holden you’ve moved to another school right? I wish you were still studying here with us. You know your English is beautiful and your works are great. We need assets like you 🙂 But anyway I hope you are happy with your new school life.

    I know little about basketball but I like your post. My favourite lines:

    Every time I got the ball, I would pass it to one of my teammates for sure. (This has been and probably will be the way I do things… ><)

    I made it! I cannot describe the happiness and triumph inside me.

    I believe that I am the creator of my own destiny and that I should start using my time wisely.

Leave a Reply

